DAVION

SYSTEMS

Closing and Re-Opening Cost Items

 

Cost items can be closed so that they can no longer be accessed for data input.

 

Closing a cost item does not remove it from the cost breakdown structure and any data in it will be preserved. Closed items may be included in reports, but the data in them cannot be changed.

 

Typical reasons for closing a cost item are:

  • the work represented by the cost item has been completed; or
  • the cost item represents a risk, and the risk itself may now be closed because it is no longer relevant or is considered to be under control.

 

Cost items are closed by selecting them on the Cost Breakdown Structure form and clicking on the Close Item button. Closed items are shown greyed out on the form. In the illustration below, items 2.3 and 2.4 have been closed.

 

CBS Form Closures

 

Re-Opening a Cost Item

Upon selecting a closed item, the Close Item button will display Re-open Item, and clicking it will cause the item to be re-opened.

 

Hiding Closed Items

If you have a large number of closed items it can be convenient to show only the open items. Closed items may be hidden by clicking on the Hide Closed button. Clicking this button a second time will display them once more.

 

Closure Reasons

The reasons for closing a cost item may not be remembered at a later date. This can lead to it being unnecessarily re-opened. For example, a risk may be closed because it is considered to be under control, but the reasons for it being under control may not be immediately obvious.

 

It is recommended that you enter a reason every time a cost item is closed or re-opened. A form will appear for this purpose whenever a cost item is closed or re-opened on the Cost Breakdown Structure form. However, entering such data is not mandatory.

 

Closure Reasons Form

 

If the cost item is a risk and if closure criteria have been entered for it, you can display the closure criteria on the Closure Reasons form.